Skip to main content

Competency Area 9: Conservation Planning AEM

PO 90. Understand the roles and responsibilities of the local, state, and federal conservation agencies (i.e. CES, SWCD, FSA, NRCS, DEC, RD, EPA, DOH, and RC&D).

  1. Cooperative Extension Service (CES)
  2. Soil and Water Conservation Districts (SWCD)
  3. Farm Service Agency (USDA-FSA)
  4. Natural Resources Conservation Service (USDA-NRCS)
  5. Department of Environmental Conservation (NYS-DEC)
  6. Rural Development (USDA-RD)
  7. Environmental Protection Agency (US-EPA)
  8. Department of Health (NYS-DOH, County-DOH)

Rural Development (USDA-RD)

The USDA Rural Development is committed to helping improve the economy and quality of life in all of rural America. The agency administers programs that touch rural America in many ways.

  • Financial programs support essential public facilities and services as water and sewer systems, housing, health clinics, emergency service facilities, and electric and telephone service.
  • Promote economic development by supporting loans to businesses through banks and community-managed lending pools.
  • Technical assistance and information to help agricultural and other cooperatives get started and improve the effectiveness of their member services; and provide technical assistance to help communities undertake community empowerment programs.

Rural Development achieves its mission by helping rural individuals, communities and businesses obtain the financial and technical assistance needed to address their diverse and unique needs.

Rural Development works to make sure that rural citizens can participate fully in the global economy.