Skip to main content

Competency Area 9: Conservation Planning AEM

PO 90. Understand the roles and responsibilities of the local, state, and federal conservation agencies (i.e. CES, SWCD, FSA, NRCS, DEC, RD, EPA, DOH, and RC&D).

  1. Cooperative Extension Service (CES)
  2. Soil and Water Conservation Districts (SWCD)
  3. Farm Service Agency (USDA-FSA)
  4. Natural Resources Conservation Service (USDA-NRCS)
  5. Department of Environmental Conservation (NYS-DEC)
  6. Rural Development (USDA-RD)
  7. Environmental Protection Agency (US-EPA)
  8. Department of Health (NYS-DOH, County-DOH)

Cooperative Extension Service (CES)

Cornell Cooperative Extension is a key outreach system of Cornell University with a strong public mission and an extensive local presence that is responsive to needs in New York communities.

The Cornell Cooperative Extension educational system enables people to improve their lives and communities through partnerships that put experience and research knowledge to work. Cornell Cooperative Extension operates on the Cornell campus through the leadership of faculty and staff in departments in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences and the College of Human Ecology, with contributions from the College of Veterinary Medicine. The county-based Cornell Cooperative Extension associations and the New York City office provide 56 portals to Cornell University.

Extension educators in these locations form powerful community-university partnerships with the Cornell campus, and involve local constituents to address the issues and concerns of New Yorkers. Similarly, the New England states have their own Cooperative Extension systems.